Forget Me Not Lady

Where Inspiration, Creativity and Faith Collide!

Keep Knocking But You Can Come In!

“Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you.”  Matthew 7:7

Doors! NIMG_0704ew doors, old doors, open doors, closed doors and of course broken doors.   As I seek I find!   This month has flown by so quickly and new opportunities are knocking.    Major career choices are being presented to me so I have been praying that God opens new doors, guides my steps to walk through the right doors and helps me slam shut the doors that are keeping me from glorifying him.   He tells us to ask and it will be given but I always find this to be so hard only because I don’t know “His Will” and what I think would be the best for me most of the time isn’t.  So the questions I ask myself are do I take a job out of state and travel again? Do I work 3 local part-time jobs to equal the salary of the traveling job? or do I start my own business doing what I love to do?   If I take the great paying traveling job the cost of being away from my husband for weeks at a time I don’t think is worth it.  3 part-time jobs would require a lot of running around but I would be home and then of course doing what I love to do requires money that I don’t have.  Oh my, Lord could you just open the door and push me through it.

So while praying for doors what do I stubble upon in my daughters basement.  A old broken down door buried under a pile of junk just crying out for help.  Pink, who the heck painted it pink and sponged it green.  Someone with a talent a wee bit different than mine but that is okay.  I now own this door!

So here we go.  First Step-Find Old Door

Pink Door

Step 2:  Remove all old hardware

IMG_0711

Step 3:  Using a handsaw I cut out the top dividing part of the door!

IMG_0710

Step 4:  Time to strip it down.

Stripping Gel

Step 5:  1st coat of Miss Mustard Seed Paint

Miss Mustard Seed Paint

Step 6:  One Hour later I applied a 2nd coat of Miss Mustard Seed Paint

1st coat

Step 7:  Once the paint was dry I took a paint scraper and gently rubbed it along the surface to give it the chipped look I love.

Step 8:  I measured the openings in the door and cut cardboard approximately 2 inches bigger so it would cover the space needed inside the door.  Using burlap I covered the cardboard with a hot glue gun.

Burlap Cover     Cover Cardboard    IMG_1208

Step 9: I then attached the cardboard to back of door.

attaching cardboard

Step 10: Added jute, new door knob and hooks.

Attaching hooks

Step 11:  Stenciled “Ask Seek Knock”  Matthew 7:7 on the mid section of the door.

Step 12: Decorated with flowers, pictures and old keys.

Finished Door-001My camera doesn’t give any justice to this picture, but I am working on that.   There are so many ways to decorate it but I just kept it simple because of course my daughter wants it back.  So in closing, I guess what doors others seem to want to close are sometimes doors others want to open.  Whether it is the right one or the wrong one, a new one or and old one there will always be something to be learned by just opening it and going through it.

Blessings, th

April 30, 2013 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. Fantastic post- loved every word of it and what a fantastic door!!!!!

    Comment by crabtreegardens | May 2, 2013 | Reply

    • If you look at opening doors as a way to make decisions, what do you do with a whole house full of doors you don’t know what to do with???

      Comment by virginia karmonick | May 3, 2013 | Reply

      • Start one by one Virginia! and pray on the door knobs! Walk through them by faith and close them with strength! thank you so much for your kind words. Hope to meet you soon.

        Comment by Forget Me Not Lady | May 6, 2013

  2. Her thoughts & words & the things she creates are so inspiring, she finds the good in everything.

    Comment by virginia karmonick | May 3, 2013 | Reply

  3. Thank you all. Your support means the world to me.

    Comment by Forget Me Not Lady | May 6, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

What's The Cent's?

DIY Sense for Cents!

Forget Me Not Lady

Where Inspiration, Creativity and Faith Collide!

kelly rae

Where Inspiration, Creativity and Faith Collide!

Where Women Create

Where Inspiration, Creativity and Faith Collide!

DIY Show Off ™ - DIY Decorating and Home Improvement Blog

Budget Friendly Do-It-Yourself Home Improvement and Decorating blog

Funky Junk Interiors

Where Inspiration, Creativity and Faith Collide!

Her Way at Crabtree Gardens

Work with her or against her, either way Nature will have her way.

Miss Mustard Seed

Move Mountains In Your Home

